Abilene/Merkel/Trent

The Boyfriend grew up in 110 acres in West Texas. His parents still live there and it is one of my most favorite places in the entire world. It is peaceful, serene, and massively Texas in every way. (The town I currently live and grew up in is cookie-cutter and could exist in any number of states. Very little of it screams Texas)

His hometown holds a really special place in my heart, as I love The Boyfriend’s family more than I thought I could love people I’m not technically related to (yet!).

The “big city” is Abilene, the smaller city outside of town where The Boyfriend and all of his friends attended high school is Merkel, and the teeny tiny town in which his parent’s land is in Trent. Follow me?

We’ll be heading there soon, so I wanted to share some pictures with you of times we have visited in the past.

The first time I visited was during Thanksgiving of 2007. It would be the first Thanksgiving I did not spend with my family, but his family was so warm and welcoming! We also got blasted with a snow storm (so rare in Texas) and made the trip even more magical. The Boyfriend’s brother was in a photography class and snapped this bad boy:

This is still one of my most favorite pictures of us. There’s snow in my hair for G-d’s sake. It is epic. We don’t have snow around these parts very often. I’m in Texas, remember?

Pardon me, but I think he looks so sexy in this picture!

I do A LOT of napping when we visit. But who am I kidding? I do a lot of napping everywhere. Have I ever mentioned that? Napping and me are like peas and carrots. If I napped that day, it was a GOOD day. Anyway, more pictures:

The drive-through beer store.

Some people (I won’t name names) from west Texas drink a lot of beer. If you travel to those parts, plan on drinking a lot of beer. Oh, and they will all drink you under the table. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

There’s a lot of roads like this.

I feel like these pictures make people in the rest of the country go “Yep, that is EXACTLY how I pictured it”. But whatever man, it is a definite change of pace from the big city. And I love love love it.

The Boyfriend’s parents. Oh how I love them!

Brotherly love!

Let’s not forget, Abilene is the birthplace of my sweetie-pie Roland! We are in the back of his mom’s car just moments after our blessed union when I took this photo. Now I have to go before I lose my mind at the cuteness.

What is your favorite place in the world?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers