Dadfest 5k

Time: 38:03

I had been nursing a cold all of last week and in the days leading up to the race, I decided I would walk with my parents who were joining me in the race that day.

However, when the race actually began, and I started walking I made the executive decision that I felt good enough to run, and off I went. So, my time is a little honky because I walked for the first 30 seconds or so.

During the race, I felt great. And my sinuses cleared up immediately!

On Running When You Feel Sick:

I think it is important to listen to your body and rest when it needs it. It has been drilled into my head that if I feel the slightest bit ill I need to stop EVERYTHING and LAY for as long as possible. Obviously, that isn’t always true. Honestly, after the race and in the days following I felt like I had kicked that cold in the ass! I haven’t had a relapse either. Live and learn.

P.S. You could sign up as a dad/child team for the race, so that is what my dad and I did. Doing that, however, takes you out of the running for placement in your age group. I would have placed FOURTH if I was inlcuded. Dangit!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers