One Month to 5 Miles

The 5k that wasn’t

This past weekend I had planned to do a 5k race in my college home town which is about a 45 minute drive from where I live. Well, a variety of things happened. We had friends come into town, and my bank account was a little too tight to fit in a race entry fee and the extra gas needed to drive to and from the location. Plus, we were joining our friends on the lake that day, and with no set schedule I didn’t want anyone to possibly be waiting on me to get back home after the race.

But there’s no reason why I couldn’t still run the distance, even though it wasn’t anything official. Luckily, the girl who stayed with us likes to run and I also invited a friend over to join us. So at 7 AM on Saturday morning, two friends and I took off on a nice 3.1 mile jog around my neighborhood that I mapped out the day before.

Distance: 3.1 miles
Time: 38:30

Not super speedy, but definitely race pace for me. The girls that ran with me were faster, running is a race against yourself, and no one else. I was happy they joined me!

My 5 mile race is exactly one month from today. Eep! It will be a personal distance record (PDR) for me and I am excited-ish. Ha!

Here’s a couple of shots from the lake. :)

It was a blast!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beth
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 10:41:22

    Good for you for running even though logistics didn’t work out to get you to the race. Looks like you had fun on the boat, too!

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 11:39:43

    Fun! Looks like you got the best of both worlds! I love going boating.

    Reply

  3. TheHEalthyApron
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 13:46:09

    Oh the lake looks like so much fun! Especially as I’m sitting here at work!

    Reply

  4. Brooke [onehealthycookie]
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 17:22:27

    I wish I had the courage to put a bikini picture of myself on the internet (let alone wear one)! You rock.

    Reply

    • rc1001
      Aug 26, 2010 @ 11:07:13

      You know I struggled a lot with that picture because I didn’t think it was one of my finest. But I decided, you know what? I am beautiful in that bikini regardless of whether I would look better 10 pounds lighter or not. There in that moment I am out in the sunshine with the love of my life. Can’t get much better than that!

      Reply

  5. couchpotatoathlete
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 08:12:24

    Rachel that is a good pace! And you are going to rock your 5 mile! Woohoo!

    I love your swim suit — the one I bought this year is a very similar turquoise color, I think it looks great on you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

