Arbor Hills Nature Preserve

So, I’ve lived in this town almost all of my life. I’m actually a native-born Yankee, and left my hometown for 4 years to attend college. Otherwise, I’ve been here.

I thought I was well aware of almost everything this town had to offer, but I was wrong. Case in point: The Arbor Hills Nature Preserve.

Here’s how the website describes it:

“Located on the western border of Plano, Arbor Hills Nature Preserve is a 200-acre park featuring vast areas of natural beauty for walking, jogging, hiking, orienteering, and other outdoor activity.”

Orienteering huh? Anyway, this place is incredible. And I’m not the only one who thinks so. It was really busy around 7 PM last night when the boyfriend, the dog, and I rolled up there for a little hiking.

It was picturesque, in every sense of the word. Big rolling hills, huge stones, beautiful foliage, and small mammals and birds that my pup was DYING to enjoy as a snack.

There was a nice variety of people there as well: trail runners (I shouted words of encouragement), families with jogging strollers, high school kids who sneak in to smoke pot (don’t think you had us fooled, kids, we know what you were up to!)

All the people, smells, and new surroundings made for a very excited puppy. I’m even restraining him when this photo was taken. Silly boy. We made sure he stayed nice and hydrated.

In an attempt to be a good blogger, I snapped a TON of pictures. I was so ready to post all about this place today. But guess what? The camera got messed up and only two photos made it out alive. Ironic, huh? We plan to go back soon, so hopefully I’ll remember to be snap happy and those pictures will make it. The place was so lush and nature-y. It was pure heaven amongst my usual day of concrete and man-made infrastructure.

Additionally, in true Plano, TX fashion, the preserve was immaculately maintained. The trails (both paved and unpaved) were kept up extremely well, they had special trash cans that made it impossible for bears or other creatures to get into, and everything was extremely well-marked. I do have to hand it to my town for really doing an excellent job of town maintenance. The roads are kept up, the town is 99% free of trash and debris, and you can tell a lot of work goes into keeping Plano beautiful. I hope this preserve stays around forever!

Summary (to be included on all “Local” posts)

Event: Trip to the Arbor Hills Nature Preserve

Place: 6701 W Parker Rd
Plano, TX

Date: August 26th at 6:00 PM

Frequency: Open year-round daily from 5 AM – 11 PM

Who can attend: Anyone.

Cost: Free

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers