Recap Extravaganza

First off, yesterday was the Jewish new year holiday, Rosh Hashanah, so I was away from the computer and didn’t blog because of it. I wasn’t able to attend temple on this holiday last year so I am so glad I was able to this year.

That Wife Meetup

Remember when I went to my first blogger meetup? The wonderful Jenna from That Wife blogged about it not too long ago. She snapped some WONDERFUL pictures (well, duh, she’s a photographer for a living!) but I thought I would share some anyway. All of the following photos in this section are courtesy of her and her skills.

Me and T1! Ehh how exciting. I’m a super blogger nerd, officially. :)

Jenna, me, and Amy!

Be sure to check The Soda Gallery out if you are ever in the area. What a super cool place.

Summary (to be included on all “Local” posts)

Event: The Soda Gallery

Place: 408 North Bishop Avenue #101
Dallas, TX 75208
(214) 946-7632

Date: Tuesday, August 17th at 6:30 PM

Frequency: I went once for the meetup but here are their hours:
Tuesday – Saturday 11:00am – 9:00pm
Sunday 11:00am – 4:00pm

Who can attend: Anyone. But this meetup was for readers of Jenna’s blog, and Jenna.

Cost: $10 for a pack of four sodas. But weren’t pressured at ALL to buy anything, but I wanted to get a few to sample. You can mix and match your own 4+ pack, or just buy one individually.

3 Year Anniversary Celebration

Normally, we aren’t big into huge grandiose celebrations, but this two-day festival of all things Bradley and Rachel love was an exceptional time. And three years is a big deal people! At least it was to us. We wanted to do something special.

My first gift was a couples massage in Frisco. We went to Siena Massage and was greeted by their friendly staff and offered our choice of beverage. I had a bellini (cranberry juice and champagne) and he had a glass of chardonnay. Then we went to get out massages. Pure bliss I tell you. If you’ve never gotten a massage I highly recommend it. This place was very affordable, and I actually got the inspiration via my favorite e-mail coupon site, Groupon. Everyday they e-mail you the daily deal and they ROCK. This deal was two hour-long massages for $70. That is a STEAL in this area. I tipped big so I could quit feeling like I robbed the poor place! :) Even without the coupon, they offer really great deals. I already want to go back.

After the massage we picked up some wine and beer and went home to cook ourselves a fancy dinner. I rarely drink, but this was a special occasion and called for it. It also called for the Bellini I drank earlier. Yes, yes it did.

So, let’s check out the eats.

So, we have the star of the evening, honey-soy glazed salmon, fettucine alfredo, green beans with soy sauce, and a couple of salads. And some baclava for dessert. Mmmmh! The Boyfriend always makes a delicious mayo/sirracha sauce when we eat fish, so you see that on the table as well. (It was probably one of our first meals eaten at our dining room table just the two of us. I know. I’m embarrassed even saying it. We always ALWAYS eat on the couch in front of the tv.)

I also gave him his gift. I got him a glass business card holder for his office that I got engraved with his name and position at his company.

[Source]

Next up? Thursday.

We went to dinner at Jorge’s Tex-Mex in the downtown art’s district. Thursday nights the art museum(s) stay open until 9 PM so the plan was to get some eats, and then check out the museums. Jorge’s was delicious! I had the veggie enchiladas and we split a margarita. Woo I’m just realizing how much alcohol I’ve had in the last few days. It is very rare, so I’m not too worried about it.

The outdoor sculpture museum had locked doors when we arrived at around 7 PM even though they were supposed to be open until 9 PM. We don’t know what happened there. Luckily the huge Dallas Museum of Art was open. One of the temporary exhibits was a cozy living room where you could make postcards (!!!) and create shadow puppets (!!!). See me hard at work drawing below.

After dinner we walked past some of the theatres and found this really cool pond that is actually shallow.

The Dallas Museum of Art is an extensive collection. By the time we left I felt like I had seen art from every corner of the globe. And we didn’t even see the whole place! Our feet got tired before we had a chance to see every part of the museum. It was pretty quiet in a majority of the areas of the museum which made for a super romantic date. Three cheers for The Boyfriend’s wonderful plans.

He also surprised me when we arrived with a whole loot of fall decorations for the apartment. Home decor? The man knows me too well.

Well this post is sufficiently 10 miles long, and I gotta scoot! Happy weekend!

Summary (to be included on all “Local” posts)

Event: 3 Year Anniversary Celebration

Place:
1. Siena Massage in Frisco, Texas
2. Jorge’s Tex Mex Restaurant
3. Downtown Arts District

Date: Wednesday September 8 – Thursday September 9

Frequency: Once for anniversary, but would like to go to all three places again.

Who can attend: It was just us two for our anniversary

Cost: $90 for couple’s massage ($70 plus $20 tip), ~$40 for dinner ingredients on Wednesday, ~$30 for dinner on Thursday, $20 for two tickets to Dallas Museum of Art, plus more for gifts (~$60+). This was definitely a splurge.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LiveForTheRun
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 13:57:40

    :) Your the first boots I’ve spotted this season! All of these photos are beautiful!!

    Reply

  2. Beth
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 14:14:23

    Aww looks like you had a fun time celebrating your anniversary! Congrats!

    Reply

  3. susan planick
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 15:55:05

    What a lovely post. Sounds like you had a truely wonderful three year anniversary. I’m so happy for you both.

    Reply

  4. Robyn
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 20:44:10

    Happy new year! What a lovely anniversary weekend you had. Massage sounds soooo good right now haha.

    Reply

  5. AmyLynne
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 23:10:21

    Soda Gallery was so much fun! I can’t wait to take my husband back there! :)

    Reply

  6. couchpotatoathlete
    Sep 11, 2010 @ 08:18:56

    2 hour massage for $70? That is such a good deal, good for you!

    Reply

  7. allison
    Sep 11, 2010 @ 11:31:03

    i stumbled upon your blog and i really love it! then i read you lived and dallas and now i think you are that much cooler being a fellow blogger and dallas girl myself:) looks like a fun meetup- i love the soda gallery-that area is great! have a good rest of the weekend-

    Reply

  8. ashmolitor
    Sep 12, 2010 @ 10:18:58

    I have to check that soda gallery place out! It looks so cool! I’m glad you guys had an amazing anniversary love fest :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

