Upside Down

I feel like this:

But today is a new day! I’m trying out a new (for me) class at my gym tonight, Body Flow, which is a combination yoga/pilates/tai chi class. I can not wait! I didn’t realize how much exercise fills a part of me and makes me feel so excellent. It really keeps me level and sane. This break has been…weird. I haven’t felt like myself.

And then I’m cooking a nice wholesome delicious healthy meal for my household.

Let’s get back to the basics, here. It is time!

P.S. Want to see our Halloween costumes?

He LOVED his Dino costume. I assumed he would try to chew on it and take it off ASAP, but he ended up sleeping in it until the next day!

Yay! Thank you Goodwill, American Apparel, the craft store and scissors!

Costume Construction

Making the costumes was pretty easy.

My blue shorts were from American Apparel and were the most expensive part of the outfits ($16). My shirt is from Goodwill, and the black shirt and the leg warmers I already owned. I picked up the tights (and some fake eyelashes for $4) from a local dance store for $12. I wanted thick ones that kept me warm. I could have gone with cheaper ones, to save money, but I’m glad I didn’t, since they also turned out to be the shaping kind, that made my legs look better than they would have otherwise.  

Bradley’s leopard print vest was actually originally a bath robe that I found at Goodwill for $4. His other vest is also a Goodwill find for around $5.

His shorts and hat were from Academy Sports and Outdoors and were around $15 total. (I originally picked up some orange ladies jeans from Goodwill, but they were too small for him – so $5 was wasted. Hopefully I can use them for another project)

Toddler t-shirt for Roland was another $3 at Wal-Mart.

I picked up some black felt and some fabric glue from the craft store for around $10. I cut out triangles from the felt and glued them on randomly to our outfits. I did one or two peices per night, so I wouldn’t get burnt out.

Colored hair spray, bone necklace, club, and the bone in my hair were all from a Halloween store. Less than $20 for all of that.

So for about $80 total (but we split it, so we each only spent around $40ish) Cheaper than buying costumes at the store, but still kind of expensive.

Did you dress up this year for Halloween? Did you make your own costume?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers