Am I Over-thinking it?

Last night I successfully stayed in my grocery budget and left with $48 in lovely, tasty items. Woo!

The quest for the perfect wedding organizer has been a lot more difficult than I anticipated. In fact, almost everything I’ve come across regarding wedding planning has been more complicated and difficult than I thought it would.

I first researched online for who made the best wedding planner/organizer. Almost unanimously, brides always claimed that they simply made their own planner, instead of spending money on a ready-made one. Okay, cool.

For some reason I wanted to find something pretty and fun that I would want to use throughout planning.

Half Price Books: I wanted to see if they had any pre-made organizers just to get an idea of what they generally contain. Unfortunately, they only had 1 to look at, and it didn’t really give me what I wanted. Then I went to check out their stationary section to see if they had some pretty notebooks or binders that would work. Nope.

Wal-Mart: No pretty binders, no pretty notebooks. I could have gone with the standard white/black binder and regular white notepad, but I wanted to keep my options open.

Borders: Checked their stationary section but there wasn’t much here either. They did have a lot of pre-made organizers to look at, but it just convinced me that I could make a better one myself.

Office Max: No pretty legal pads at all. I remember growing up I had teachers that used colored legal pads in pretty pastel colors, but Office Max didn’t have any besides white or yellow. And maybe one binder that would have worked.

What gives? I’m thinking my next attempts at this will be Barne’s and Nobles and then Papyrus which is a beautiful stationery store. It is also not “school supply season” in the middle of November, so maybe they’ll be more options once the new year rolls around? Do people buy school supplies in the middle of the school year?

Maybe I’m making this way more complicated than it has to be.

[Source]

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. allofmywords
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 14:11:56

    Hey Girl –

    This might be able to help you out:

    http://www.paper-source.com/cgi-bin/paper/office/calendars.html

    I used TheKnot Wedding Planning book.

    Reply

  2. LiveForTheRun
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 14:13:42

    You need a girlfriend to surprise you, that way someone else picks it:) It’s something you are going to see daily so make sure it’s something you like. 9 out 10 times if you are looking for something you can’t find it. Hang in there, I know you’ll find something awesome!

    Reply

  3. Sasha
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 14:53:33

    Have you looked at Michael’s or a craft store? That would be the first place to look, in my opinion.

    Reply

  4. couchpotatoathlete
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 15:37:54

    I bought one at Target — and I’ll be honest, I really didn’t use it. I needed a notebook and a folder to keep track of papers.

    I would think Barnes and Noble would have something — if not, you should make your own and start a business :)

    Reply

  5. jillian416
    Nov 09, 2010 @ 20:59:01

    I made my own and love it! I got my binder at Office Max, it’s just a pretty pastel pink and I bought a bunch of cute inserts.

    However, if you look online at officemax.com they have a bunch of colorful legal pads.

    I look forward to hearing what you come up with.

    Reply

  6. MeaganLikesIt
    Nov 10, 2010 @ 17:31:34

    My blog became my binder, to be honest. I started out with one and spent a lot of time getting organized, but it didn’t last. I collected ideas and plans on my blog, and now I have it all saved – the whole evolution from inspiration to actuality.

    Reply

  7. Trackback: DIY Wedding Organizer « Fit, Fun, and Fabulous

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

