November Recap

Hello all! It is December already. Yay! It is also the first night of Hanukkah tonight, so to all my fellow Tribe members out there reading, Happy Hanukkah! I’m planning on cooking some traditional potato pancakes tonight and having a quiet evening at home with The Fiance. I’ll be lighting the Menorah and we’ll eat at the dining room table (not the usual tv-tray-in-front-of-the-big-screen).

[Source]

November Goals Recap

1. Blog 5x a week at least

Verdict: Went strong the first two weeks, and then got sidelined a bit. Thanksgiving turned out to be a lot bigger of a project than I anticipated and then some nightmare billing problems with my cable provider sucked up my lunch time for several days since I was on the phone the whole time trying to get it all straightened out. It still isn’t by the way. (Want some advice? Never ever sign up for automatic bill pay or let an institution have access to your money. Ever.)

2. Budget $50 for healthy groceries

Verdict: Success! I just checked my spending report and I spent $198 dollars this month on groceries which works out to about $50 a week. However, those numbers are a little deceiving because I don’t feel like we were adequately stocked with healthy, wholesome foods this month. So, spending is in check, now we need to work on the details of what it is being bought.

3. Plan Thanksgiving

Verdict: Done and done. It wound up being WAY more of a production than I anticipated. I ran a race that morning and then barely had time to shower and eat breakfast before I was in hostess mood for the next 9 hours – prepping the meal, refilling drinks, reorganizing everything in my kitchen 15 times so everything could get done in the small space, whew. I felt miserable, to be honest. My aunt came through for me in a huge way and I couldn’t have done it without her help. Next time there will be a much larger gap between the race and the Thanksgiving start time if I am to host again.

4. Save up and get new running shoes (and run two awesome races)

Verdict: I picked out a fabulous new pair of kicks and have been enjoying breaking them in. It feels good to be in a proper pair of shoes…for the first time in my life! As an early holiday present, The Fiance offered to split the cost of the shoes with me, so I ended up being able to buy them earlier than anticipated. I only ran one race (the Turkey Trot – recap coming soon!) since the other race I was planning on was too expensive for me at the time.

Did you have a strong month? Are you ready to finish up the year in a big way?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beth
    Dec 01, 2010 @ 14:08:01

    Great job on your goals for November! I had a really good month with mine as well.

    Reply

  2. LiveForTheRun
    Dec 01, 2010 @ 14:14:43

    Happy holidays – and eight crazy nights:)

    You knocked Nov out of the park – can’t wait to hear more on the race….Good for you!

    Reply

  3. Lew (ashandlewplus2.com)
    Dec 01, 2010 @ 16:02:14

    Thank you for you comment on meals and miles. I tried my best and just kept going thinking about my family.

    Reply

  4. thefitacademic
    Dec 01, 2010 @ 20:33:15

    Such a great idea to do little monthly goals! It seems like around New Years everyone is talking about resolutions/goals for the year, etc., but it’s nice to have small goals just for the month, itself!

    Reply

  5. Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun
    Dec 01, 2010 @ 22:07:54

    My main goal right now is to stay healthy and survive this pregnancy…so November was a success. Now to get through December. :D

    Reply

  6. Shari
    Dec 03, 2010 @ 14:36:11

    Hi! I found your blog via Caitlin’s (couldn’t agree more about your hamentashen comment!), and just wanted to say that I’m really enjoying yours. Happy Hanukkah to you! :D

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

