A Sad Story about Shoes

First off, heels are definitely out for the big day. It isn’t that I don’t like them! Quite the contrary, actually. I love a good heel.

But The Fiancé is about 3-4 inches taller than I am, and we’d like to keep it that way for photos. So, no heels.

I thought I’d probably wind up with some nice bejeweled flats to keep it a little fancy and with a little vintage flair.

41AjAwJoi4L__SS260_

Image via Style Hive / Shoes by Target

vera wang lavendar jeweled silver flat shoe

Image via Electric Jewelry and Fashion / Vera Wang

I’m also not opposed to sporting a cowboy boot for the big day. It IS a Texas wedding, ya’ll! (Yes, I most definitely use that word regularly)

bride-in-cowboy-boots

Image via Elizabeth Anne Designs / Photography by Open Air Photography by Katie Stoops

Bride-in-Cowboy-Boots

Image via Elizabeth Anne Designs / Photography by Souder Photography

But then I started taking a little shy glance at some glittery fabulosities (yeah, I made that word up) that were popping up around the wedding blogosphere.

silver-sparkle-wedding-shoes

Image via Elizabeth Anne Designs / Photograph by Erin Hearts Court via Once Wed

glitter

Photograph by She-N-He Photography 

Eep! So shiny.

One weekend while out shopping with a friend, I kept picking up those really insanely sparkly ones and asking myself if I could be a bride sporting a shoe like this:

Christian Louboutin Glitter Platform Pump - photo

Image via This Next / Christian Louboutin

The answer? No, probably not. Heels are out, like I said, and the glitter definitely doesn’t have anything to do with the overall theme we are going for (relaxed, romantic, vintage).

But then, while strolling down the regular priced shoe aisles at DSW on the way out (anyone else always make a bee-line for the back-of-the-store sale racks?) I came across something!

enzoImage via This Next / Enzo Angiolini

Glittery! Flat, but still fancy! A little vintage-inspired with the adorable gold bow! I like bows!! And, as a kicker, a very affordable wedding shoe price tag of $49.50.

I’d like to say that they were SOLD and are now sitting peacefully in a shoebox at home, but they were out of my size. And then, when I went to purchase them online, they were sold out, everywhere. Arg! The search continues.

Did you save or splurge on your wedding shoes?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amanda
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 08:37:12

    I’m wearing my cowboy boots that I already own on my wedding day. I love them, and I was wearing them the day we got engaged. My FI is wearing his cowboy boots too. He also wore them the day we got engaged, but his are very special to us. My grandfather passed away last year and my grandmother gave my FI my grandfather’s cowboy boots. It was a big deal and I’m so excited that his memory will be honored on our wedding day!

    Reply

  2. ashaustrew
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 15:01:26

    Umm…that very first picture–the purple (or royal blue?) with the bows–made my heart skip a beat. I don’t know when I became a woman, but oh my god, I love shoes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

