The Best Self

A while back, I talked about some healthy goals I had taken on in order to be my best self for the wedding. I’ve been incorporating most of these goals in a big way (except drinking water and I don’t even want to depress myself trying on those stupid black shorts).

Today and right now, I feel good. I want to bottle this up and tap into it whenever I need to. That’s the great thing about blogs, the opportunity to preserve the kinds of moments you want to hold on to forever.

The fact that I feel good right now is no random accident and I have to remember that. All of the books I’ve been reading, yoga I’ve been doing, and weights I’ve been lifting have helped me tremendously. I’m capable and strong and unique.

Personal Photo of my first 5k last year

My biggest goal in all of this body-image “stuff” is finding peace with it all. Figuring out how to find a happy middle ground between being obsessed with it all or ignoring it completely and not taking good care of myself.

Personal Photo after walking endless miles in New York City
(see the Statue of Liberty way back there?)

I refuse to be distracted on my wedding day with negative thoughts about myself. That isn’t MY day. It is OUR day. To celebrate the best parts of each other and to enter into a lifetime commitment to one another for better or worse, no matter our physical appearance.

ALL brides are beautiful on their wedding day. Every. Single. One. Including me. Including you. There’s nothing we have to “do” to achieve that. It is natural. As long as we all feel healthy and fresh and loved on our wedding day, that’s all that matters, right? Right.

What three words would you use to describe how you want to feel on your wedding day?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers